Can I Have Your Number? A Sexual Health Infographic and Tips for Creating Your Own

So I feel like I’ve been veering a bit off topic in several of my blog posts, so to all of you diehard crisis-communicators, I am deeply apologetic. And allow me to warn you in advance: this next one has literally nothing to do with crisis comm. But I think it has some value, and you may enjoy it anyways.

For my Stategic PR Communication class, Kelli Matthews had us design an infographic about something we are passionate about (side note: if you don’t already follow her blog, you probably should). The natural choice was sex.

But not in the way you’re thinking! For the past 2 years, I have worked as a Sexual Health Peer Health Educator, and I have come to learn a few things regarding the importance of healthy communication, relationships and safe sex. And while I’m not an expert in design, I figured I’d offer up a few infographic pointers (even if you aren’t a design genius either):

Disclaimer: these are for the beginners. Like me!

Pick a color scheme. Basically, make sure the colors you use look good together, and simultaneously have enough contrast. Dark blue writing on a black background is tough on the eyes.

Maintain balance. Pay attention to layout and what you are trying to emphasize. Where does each piece lie in relation to everything else on the page?

Break it up into sections. Give the eyes a road map to follow for where you want them to go.

Avoid design overkill. Especially if you are using a tool such as Piktochart, it can be easy to get carried away with the multitude of icons, fonts and graphics available. Think simple.

Embrace white space. Don’t “smush” everything together. Allow breathing room for each individual component.

Image

Leave a Reply

